enjoy_the_silence.mp3

January 16th, 2021

Beginning to sound like a broken record.
Indeed, it has been some time since my last update or since I've done any work on the site. My job pretty much takes up all of my time, and I've got lots of things coming up in the year to plan and work on that most other project have been placed on the back burner. The holidays were more chaotic than usual and I feel like I've yet to recover.
I did pick up some interesting items in the meantime including a red and black "lacemonster" set by the brand Good Luck. It reminds me so much of the first piece I ever got to wear, a Bodyline set with similar design elements, so the fact that some may find its appearance painful doesn't matter so much to me. All dresses have a place in someone's heart.
I have been getting more into historical outfits and have been studying a little bit about different types of corsets and fabrics and fashion customs throughout the ages. I am also really into the different hairstyles and have been trying different methods of attaining ringlets, curls, and waves. I am planning a trip in the Spring to visit some historical sites as well, I need a safe way to decompress from work and the holidays and I think this will be the perfect thing.
I have no idea when the next update will be, but I always appreciate your presence.


it's_been_awhile.mp3

November 8th, 2020

My day job seems to be eating up more and more of my time these days, though hopefully I'll get into a better groove soon and be better with my time management.
It seems Heihei heard the pleas for their online shop to open back up and they are currently stocking some fantastic items! I am holding out for something in a yellow plaid instead of green or red but I'm really excited to have the chance to snag something!
I recently purchased a few more bad ass vintage pieces from Jane Marple. As work takes up more of my time, the less time I seem to have for fashion so I am trying to buy things that I'll be able to wear at work that are appropriate yet still me. The corporate workplace can be soul-sucking and depersonalizing, but I'm realizing it doesn't have to be! The first item is a gorgeous red and blue tartan set from the late 90s with black velvet detailing on the lapels and pockets. It reminds me very much of the old Vivienne Westwood tartan suit sets (and at release was almost as expensive). The second is a sweater dress in a cobalt blue with yellow letters and a bird illustration that says "Cheer up, Sleepy Jane", which I had my eyes on for a few weeks now but was so certain it would sell out while I was on a no-buy.

I'm not sure how many more items I'll be frivolously buying in the future, as now is a really important time for me and I need to be focused on my career and saving, but maybe that will make the future purchasesv all that much more thrilling and wonderful.


heihei

October 18th, 2020

Work has been as hectic as I imagined, but in my downtime I have been dreaming of the latest collection put out by HeiHei. I was never really drawn to tartan in most lolita cuts, but I am quite a fan of these proto-lolita, sorta-pink-house oversized tartan dresses with big bows and contrasting colors.


seriously, nothing is better than this

I'm really hopoing I will be able to catch their next online shop opening, but if not I think Candy Stripper's latest tartan collection is really gorgeous too. This grungey, 80s revival style seems to be quite trendy at the moment.


Short Update

October 9th, 2020

Just a short update, I've been sad about the lack of Halloween happenings this year so I've been doing some half-assed ishoku hada makeup looks while in between jobs to try to get into a more festive mood. Though I just got hired and might be having to update this website more sporadically than I'd like and it's been nice having so much free time to work on art, I'm really happy to start working again.


milkfed shirt, pink panther bag, handmade accessories

Hope whoever might be reading this is making the best of the goth christmas season. This whole year doesnt really even feel real.




Lolita Quiz part 1

September 27th, 2020

I had attempted a blog site before this one and was working on a lolita quiz that some folks from discord came up with that came in several parts. To get the ball rolling here on this shiny, new space I'll transfer the answers I have already to here! Enjoy (or don't).
(๑•́ ₃ •̀๑)

GENERAL LOLITA

When did you first see lolita? I think it must have been around 2001 or 2002? I discovered lolita through visual kei, I was curious about the types of fashion they wore and absolutely idolized Kyo from Dir en Grey and Hizumi from D’espairsRay.

What is your favourite lolita memory? The first time I ever wore lolita. The same friend with the GLB and I had the opportunity to see D’espairsRay (2005-10-28 for their US “Infections Mania Act II-” tour)! It was an absolutely monumental day, imagine the likelihood of one of my favorite bands coming to Ohio…it was so surreal.

Have you had any dreams about lolita? Oddly no? But I was wearing lolita in some of my dream adventures, so perhaps that counts for something.

What is the strangest thing you have done in lolita? I don’t think I’ve done anything particularly strange in lolita, though to most people I think just being outside in it could be seen as strange. I’ve never like, robbed a bank in lolita or anything. (Disclaimer: I have not robbed a bank ever)

Do you match your room with your aesthetic? Not the bedroom which is pretty lackluster, but I have a spare room for my own interests and this room is very much matched with my lolita aesthetic! It’s a work in progress, but I’ve got a lot of little antique baubles, my plushie collection, and I’m planning to hang up some antique frames and photos. I’ve also got a corner with show fliers and visual kei memorabilia. I’d like to hang up some dried herbs and flowers, get some more area rugs, and maybe some fairy lights and a proper dresser and end table.

Is there such thing as a lolita “lifestyle”? I like to think so? I think there needs to be more substance to lolita than just the aspect of collecting clothes otherwise there isn’t enough there to really call it a subculture, I might end up ranting about this later in a seperate post. I think what is considered lolita lifestyle is up to interpretation to the individual since it is just clothes after all; if you are doing something and wearing lolita, I’d say that counts as a lifestyle activity.

Do you listen to “lolita music”? I think what “lolita music” is is pretty difficult to define.

What is your worst lolita memory? I haven’t had any particularly bad real life experiences, but I have had to deal with online bullying which was not the greatest time.

If you could make any lolita brand could do a collab with any brand, what would that collab be? Metamorphose x Hysteric Glamour I can picture it now, a really cool cut with some wacky, all-over print pattern from their Grunge collection. Or maybe they’d incorporate some sort of interesting, chaotic knit.

What sort of lolita advice would you give to your younger self? Don’t let your place in life take away things that make you happy like your clothing choices or your hobbies, those things might just help lift you up when you need them most.



はじめまして

September 27th, 2020

Hello there everyone, welcome to my blog.
ヽ/❀o ل͜ o\ノ
Really excited to be creating this neat litte place on the internet, I had always dreamed of having websites like these in the early internet days but never had the time or confidence to do one of my own. I'm not really sure what I'd like to talk about here yet or what sorts of things I'd like to share. The current pandemic has made it difficult to go places, and travel and food were so intertwined with fashion and meetups for myself and many others I'm sure.
(๑•﹏•)
In the meantime, I hope you enjoy looking around. I'll be adding to my wardrobe and magazine clippings pages soon. I'm still trying to figure out how I'd like the music page to be formatted (or maybe an art page??) and I'm still working on the front page as well so I apologize for any chaotic feeling.
Nice to meet you!